2019 Baltimore Screenwriters Competition Winners

The Baltimore Film Office at the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts (BOPA) announces the winners of the 14th annual Baltimore Screenwriters Competition. In the feature category, Maeve Tierney won first place with “You Mean Our Dad,” Maxwell Towson won second place with “Once Upon a Time in Shaolin” and Harrison Demchick won third place with “The Grinning Man.” In the shorts category, Vy Truong won first place with “The Senator,” Brad Cartwright won second place with “This Must Be the Place” and Dimitri Callwood-Jackson won third place with “American Dream.”

The winners were selected by film industry professionals Nina Kostroff Noble, Ken LaZebink, B.A. Parker and Annette Porter. The Baltimore Screenwriters Competition is a project of the Baltimore Film Office, a division of BOPA, in conjunction with film programs at Johns Hopkins University and Morgan State University. Funding is provided by The Arts Insurance Program, a division of Maury, Donnelly and Parr. Additional support is courtesy of the Charles Theatre and Senator Theatre, Maryland Film Festival, Movie Magic Screenwriter, NEXTCAR and Visit Baltimore.

In the feature category, the first place winner receives $1,500, an all-access pass to the 2019 Maryland Film Festival, a Weekend in Baltimore Package, a rental car for the weekend and passes to area movie theaters. The second place winner receives $750, an all-access pass to the festival and movie passes. The third place winner receives $350, an all-access pass to the festival and movie passes. In the shorts category, winners receive cash prizes. All winners receive Movie Magic Screenwriter software. 

For more information on the Baltimore Screenwriters Competition, call 410-752-8632 or visit www.baltimorefilm.com.